Farming and Football

My students are doing a great job engaging with the material.  I’ll share a sampling of what they have taught me in the past few days in the next post. But first, an update to explain some of what I have learned since my last posting … I really have been learning things every day 🙂

After the Ronald McDonald House service experience on Wednesday, my advisory went on Thursday to a farm in Raleigh connected with the Inter-Faith Food Shuttle.  There, we learned a lot about sustainable farming and did some work in the hot sun.  I took several pages of notes and will post them when I get a chance.  The statistic that most stood out for me (and which I want to verify) is that vegetables at the grocery store that have traveled from such far-away places as California, Mexico, Peru or Chile often lose half of their nutrition in the 8-12 day transit.  According to our guide, the sugar breaks down to starch, which in part explains why small children do not want to “eat their vegetables.”  This makes sense to me, because my son Ben loves the fresh tomatoes we grow in our home garden.  Apparently, they have more sugar in them.  In any case, a farming post will soon follow. 

I also learned from an article in the N&O on Saturday that a high school football team from Cherokee High School, in Cherokee, North Carolina, drove more than five hours to play a school in Raleigh on Friday.  The Cherokee team (which sadly lost in overtime, 26-20) represents more than just its school or its city — it represents the Cherokee nation.  Here’s a quote from the article: 

“We emphasize and stress every opportunity we get that these kids represent a nation,” coach Craig Barker said. “A lot of kids represent a school or a district, but these kids are fortunate enough to be able to represent a nation of people. These kids take pride in that fact, that they do represent the Eastern Band of the Cherokees. It’s an honor, but it’s a duty also.”

Looking at the school using Google Earth, it looks like an average high school…

However, zooming out using Google Earth reveals how far out in the country of western North Carolina this school is located:

If you want to check it out yourself, the school’s address is 1501 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719.

When I was poking around the Cherokee neighborhood on Google Earth, clicking on the pictures people left there (the blue dots in the previous picture), I saw a sign welcoming people to Cherokee, and that’s how I learned that the Cherokee have a different language:

You can learn a whole lot about the world using Google Earth…

About Steve Goldberg

I teach students at Research Triangle High School (RTHS) about US History. RTHS is a public charter school in Durham, NC, whose mission is to incubate, prove and scale innovative models of teaching and learning. The blog posts here reflect my own personal views and not those of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

