Tweet and retweet

With my friend Jeff Delp’s permission, I’m sharing an exchange we just had over Twitter that provides yet another reason for using Twitter — it is a great way to share resources and have a quick conversation with people you know:

I read a great job description on my email, and because I’m the sort of person who shares cool things I come across, I tweeted this:

(on Twitter, it’s okay to spell words wrong — the idea is to get your message across in 140 characters or less)

When you want to direct a public tweet to someone, you use the @ sign, followed (without a space) by the person’s Twitter name.

And then Jeff and I went into direct message mode so that we could coordinate a time to catch up next week.  Nobody can see a direct message you send to someone else on Twitter.  It’s a private communication, whereas our main tweets are public.

Note that you can only direct message with someone who’s following you on Twitter.  Jeff and I already follow each other, so it was no problem.

Here’s our exchange:

Twitter is a great tool for connecting with busy educators.

I’ve also written about the value of Twitter in three earlier blog posts:

So please, if you are still thinking about Twitter, give it a shot.  Soon you, too, will be tweeting, retweeting, and connecting with the world 🙂

About Steve Goldberg

I teach students at Research Triangle High School (RTHS) about US History. RTHS is a public charter school in Durham, NC, whose mission is to incubate, prove and scale innovative models of teaching and learning. The blog posts here reflect my own personal views and not those of my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

